FUTURE WORLD: Where Art Meets Science

The first time I know this exhibition is from my friend when she said that there is an exhibition in marina bay sands that use light and digital effect. Juts by hearing light and digital I already know that this would be awesome and yes, when I check in Google and see the picture of this exhibition i already captive by it. So then I planned to come here on  28 April with my school mate.

IMG_9631

Ticket Future World

The location of this exhibition is in art science museum Singapore, the flower-like building near marina bay sands that could be reach by Bay Front MRT. Luckily I’m a local student, so I got cheaper ticket with only $11 which I personally think is cheap for a futuristic exhibition and it’s located in marina bay and not only that, the ticket is compliment-able for a bottle of vitamin water.

 

My first impression when I entered the exhibition is I thought it would be like a labyrinth because the room is so dark and I was a little bit dizzy because I cannot see well. But then I found the first room which full of butterfly and flower projection and suddenly I felt like I’m in enchanted forest that full of magical creatures. Next, I walk out from that magical room and then there was a full length screen that showing a motion wave of a 100 years sea diorama. This animation a combination of a traditional Japanese artwork with contemporary scientific  data. This art work repeated about every 7 minutes and showing how climate change effected the sea level. And because the duration of the animation is quite long, there are a few of bean bag for the visitors to lay down comfortably to enjoy the artwork.

After enjoying some relaxing moment looking at the wave, we walk to another area called ‘Town’ where there were two ways to get into this room. First you can just choose the normal path and second is the slides which showing the excitement of this area ahead. This area is more likely a playroom with a lot of interactive game where one of those is a table showing a landscape of a ton using cutting-edge technology. In this table, the visitors can design the city traffic my moving specific cubes or tube where it will connect by the digital road/rail/river based on the shapes that are the same. Next to it is a large screen that project the visitors artwork into 3D drawing that move. The visitors could choose any kind of transportation drawing that already prepared and colored it, then they can scan the drawing and it will come out as 3D drawing on the screen. I was so amazed by this technology because what we were colored was just a 2D drawing that look so simple like for kindergarten but after I scanned it, it turn out to be an animation that could move and turn.

Moving on to the next section is called ‘Park’. This area is more playful then previous area where it is more fun and include strength activity. In this area there is an artworks called Sketch Aquarium where it’s kind of like the projector drawing before but here the drawings are sea animal that can be scan and then project into the screen so the animal could swim. But not just that, there is a small pathway that was projected and it was a pond. Here, the visitor could step on a leaf or stone and there will be a water splash effect and sound effect of nature. Besides it there is area with huge light ball called Light Ball Orchestra. The balls are multi-sizes where some are suspended from the ceiling and the rest can be played on the ground. This place is really like an art gallery where the surroundings are remain dark and only the art piece are being emphasize.

FullSizeRender

Crystal Universe

The last area that attract my attention when I see the review on the internet called Crystal Universe. This room is full of led curtain light that embarking outward and upward and change color at certain timing where it then become like a motion. You will feel like you’ve been taking to astronomical space. It is such an extraordinary artwork that can only be achieve by the work of scientist with advance technology.

Later that I know that this exhibition is done by Team Lab which is a collaboration work from multiple technician, creative backgrounds, including artist, programmers, engineers, CG animators, mathematicians and architect that brings together the innovative work. No wonder that this exhibition is so amazing and would attract many visitors.

If there is another futuristic exhibition, i’ll make sure to come and see one of those.

Leave a comment